She, My World

poem, poetry, writing

mim-19.jpgthis beautiful woman
my world
loves me
I am lucky
can words
describe emotions
lancing my heart
weakening/strengthening my resolve
to be a better man

sept-10-2016-bridge-2

Earth
cool, earthen forest
bird-song and tittering leaves
in waves comes, worry
weight of responsibility’s burden
sink to the earth, weary
her hand lifts my heart
her wide smile brings the sun
gives me strength to
keep on

water-rocks-001

Water
intimacy, adoration, togetherness
has a strength, a flow
through demanding moments
past life’s stony ramparts
time and again, returning
to the peace of our love

mountains

Air
breath of the world
brings us life, fills
our lungs, gives voice
to the silence
to what’s inside
our truth residing
in our hearts

sun-01

Fire
passion, zeal, spirit, all fuel
infatuation, amore, devotion
bases of human interconnectedness
keeping our lives luminous
in our self-imposed caves
that spark, moment, she
stepped into my heart
gave flame to a candle
I thought extinguished
shepherding a kind light
in my dismal mind
I am grateful for
her hand, her love
her voice, her smile
how the fire now
warms my heart

 

photo and poems © DC Lessoway

Leave a Reply

